In 1959 there was an amateur biannual event between amateur teams from the three countries, which was disbanded in the mid 60’s, that did not involve juniors and the JAC had not been organized. The original JAC started as matches between the Mexican, Alberta and the Southern California Junior Golf Associations with each association hosting every 3 years.

In 1972, a meeting was held at the Hogan Cup at Riverside Golf & Country Club in Portland, Ore. The meeting’s participants included: Bob Norquist Oregon; Lou Smith, San Diego; Walt McConalogue, Northern California; Bill Brandt, Southern California; Al Jones, Pacific Northwest GA and Fred Wellsby and Harry White, British Columbia. At the meeting the decision was made to expand the Junior America’s Cup to include our western states plus Canada and Mexico. Those participating were: British Columbia, Idaho, Mexico (with two teams), Nevada, Northern California, Oregon, San Diego, Southern California, Washington and Utah.

In 1972, the Junior Golf Association of Northern California hosted the first event under the new expanded format.  Each team had five members. The competitors were housed by golfing families in the Pebble Beach area. What a great experience it was for all involved! The boys played Monterey Peninsula Country Club the first round, Spyglass Hill the second round, with the final round being hosted by the world famous Pebble Beach Golf Links.

The Awards Ceremony was held on the lawn by the picturesque 18th green. San Diego captured the gold and one of the team members, Scott Simpson, is still active on the pro tour today.

In 1974, a change was made to the team size, with four team members instead of five.  The format has remained the same since.  That year, Arizona and Hawaii were invited to participate.  British Columbia withdrew from the Matches for a few years.

In 1975, Colorado became a part of the America’s Cup Matches with Montana joining in 1976 and Alberta in 1977.  British Columbia also rejoined.  The field remained the same until 1989 when Sun Country (New Mexico and part of western Texas) were asked to join.  In 1995, Mexico asked to bring one team instead of two.  Wyoming was admitted to the group in 2001 which brought the team total to 17 with each golf association rotating hosting this prestigious event.

The pairing format is quite unique in that each team member plays with a different player from two other associations the first two rounds.  The final day pairings are made according to the 36-hole team totals.  There are no playoffs in case of ties; duplicate medals (gold, silver and bronze) are presented to the tying team members.

In November of 2004, the Boys’ Junior America’s Cup lost its long-time Executive Director, Sally Pini (Northern California).  In her memory the Sally Pini Memorial Medal was awarded for the first time at the 2006 Boys’ Junior America’s Cup to the individual medalist.

Established in 1973 – Pebble Beach, California

Junior America’s Cup Oath:

In the name of all competitors I promise that we will take part in these Junior America’s Cup Matches, respecting and abiding by the rules which govern them, in the true spirit of sportsmanship, for the glory of the game and the honor of our teams.

The Junior Americas Cup has showcased some of the best junior golfers throughout the western region. The competition brings together an elite international field of 18 teams of the top four boys representing 12 western states, 2 Canadian Provinces and Mexico competing in a team format.  Team results are based on the lowest three gross scores of the four team members.  Players also compete for low individual medalist honors.

Many former participants have gone on to become successful Tour players, and its likely many of this year’s participants will follow in the footsteps of other famous JAC alumni such as Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Fred Couples and Corey Pavin. Other notable participants include Ricky Barnes, Notah Begay, John Cook, Robert Gamez, Jason Gore, Charley Hoffman, Peter Jacobson, Steve Jones, Anthony Kim, Joel Kribel, Casey Martin, Billy Mayfair, Ryan Moore, Kevin Na, Pat Perez, Chris Riley, Scott Simpson, Duffy Waldorf and Mark Wiebe.


Year Site City Winner(s) Score
2017 The Home Course DuPont, Washington British Columbia 639
2016 Guadalajara Country Club Guadalajara, Mexico Washington 639
2015 Pine Canyon Club Flagstaff, Arizona S. California 623
2014 Shaughnessy Golf and Country Club Vancouver, British Columbia Hawaii 675
2013 Wailea Golf Club Wailea, Maui, Hawaii San Diego 627
2012 BanBury GC Boise, Idaho N. California 623
2011 Hiwan GC Evergreen, Colo. N. California 640
2010 Isleta Eagle GC Albuquerque, New Mex S. California 618
2009 Annandale GC Pasadena, Calif. British Columbia 632
2008 Royal Oaks CC Vancouver, Wash. S. California 660
2007 Morgan Run Resort & GC Rancho Santa Fe, Calif. Oregon 623
2006 Ogden CC Ogden, Utah San Diego 641
2005 Powder Horn CC Sheridan Wyo. Oregon 644
2004 San Joaquin CC Fresno, Calif. Mexico 654
2003 Rio Secco GC Henderson, Nev. Oregon 440
2002 Silver Springs CC Calgary, Alberta Alberta 666
2001 Yellowstone CC Billings, Mont. British Columbia 646
2000 Sahalee CC Redmond, Wash. S. California 658
1999 Perry Park CC Larkspur, Colo. N. California 661
1998 Grayhawk GC Scottsdale, Ariz. Idaho 655
1997 Mauna Kea Beach GC Hawaii S. California 659
1996 Swan-e-set Bay Resort Vancouver, BC Hawaii 673
1995 Crane Creek CC Boise, Idaho Washington 647
1994 Club De Golf Vallescondido Mexico City, Mexico Utah 649
1993 Tanoan CC, Albuquerque, New Mex. Oregon 651
1992 Pumpkin Ridge CC Portland, Ore. Arizona 661
1991 Carlton Oaks CC Santee, Calif. N. California 434
1990 Yorba Linda CC Yorba Linda, Calif. S. California 650
1989 Pasatiempo GC Santa Cruz, Calif. S. California 685
1988 Ogden CC Ogden, Utah S. California 658
1987 Yellowstone CC Billings, Mont. N. California 651
1986 La Hacienda CC Mexico City, Mexico Arizona 659
1985 Calgary Golf and CC Calgary, Alberta N. California 680
San Diego
1984 Edgewood Tahoe GC Stateline, Nev. S. California 698
1983 Sahalee CC Redmond, Wash. N. California 688
1982 Eisenhower GC Colorado Springs, Colo. N. California 665
1981 Continental CC Flagstaff, Ariz. S. California 659
1980 Waialae CC Honolulu, Hawaii Washington 662
1979 Capilano Golf and CC Vancouver, BC N. California 665
San Diego
1978 Elkhorn CC Sun Valley, Idaho Hawaii 664
1977 Club De Golf La Hacienda Mexico City, Mexico S. California 648
1976 Ogden CC Ogden, Utah Hawaii 655
1975 Eugene CC Eugene, Ore. N. California 671
1974 El Niguel CC Laguna Niguel, Calif. San Diego 669
1973 Monterey Peninsula CC & Pebble Beach, Calif. San Diego 915
Spyglass Hill GC